

MINUTES of ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2020

3 December 2020 Community Hall, Port Douglas

Welcome

The President opened the meeting at 6.00pm with an acknowledgement of country, and welcomed members and visitors.

Present and Apologies

Twenty one members attended, forming a quorum.

In person:

Didge McDonald (President), Laurene Hull (Secretary), Carolyn Toohey (Treasurer), Roisin Allen (Committee), David Carey (Committee), Allen Sheather (Committee), Mike Berwick (Committee), Vivienne Ruffles, Lachie Templeton, Peta Campbell, Nigel Brothers, Hugh Spenser, Tahlia Morris, Neil Hewitt, John Burden, Barbara Maslen

By proxy:

Rosey Cummings, Ross Cummings, Julia Leu, Kaye Priem, Sam Morris,

Apologies:

Rosey Cummings, Ross Cummings, Julia Leu, Kaye Priem, Sam Morris, Kelvin Davies, Doug Quarry, Judith Quarry, Michael Gabour, Catherine Bone

Visitors: Lyn Johnson, Chair Board Jabalbina

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

Moved acceptance: David Carey, Seconded: Roisin Allen - Passed

Presentation of Annual Report and Presidents Report

The President spoke to the Annual Report, strategic highlights and operating highlights. Specific items included activity to progress implementation of election commitments by Douglas Shire Councillors, the Daintree Campaign including against a Bridge, Douglas Shire Council elections, media and lobbying efforts, littoral forest and general clearing concerns, and Wangetti Trail issues.

The President also spoke about the many submissions made by DSSG to relevant Queensland government agencies and Ministers on the Wangetti Trail, regarding renewable power solutions for Daintree, and funding for a Bridge across the Daintree. DSSG also wrote several letters to the editors

of the Port Douglas Mossman Gazette and Douglas News Network re environmental issues in the Shire. We also issued media releases on these issues.

He also spoke of contributions made by DSSG representatives on the Local Marine Area Advisory Committee, and in support of GBR Legacy and Call of the Running Tide event. He thanked the Committee members and acknowledged their work for the year. He advised continuing focus for 2021 will be protection of the Reef, the Rainforest and carbon neutral progress.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer spoke to the Financial Report and Auditors Report and advised of the financial position as at 30 September 2020, which is the financial year for the organisation. She advised the members that the legislation requirements regarding external audit did not apply this year. She detailed unusual expenditure on campaign matters this year and answered questions. Detailed financial transaction records were made available to the meeting.

Motion to adopt Annual Report and Financial Report

Moved by Carolyn Toohey and Seconded by Allen Sheather. Passed

Auditor

Motion to appoint Graham Anderson as auditor if we require one next year

Moved: Carolyn Toohey, Seconded Laurene Hull. Passed

Election of members of Management Committee and Office bearers.

The Secretary advised the meeting that the Constitution requires the President's position to be vacated and elected every year, along with half the Committee positions. There are currently two committee positions filled and four vacant positions. The Secretary and Treasurer positions are also vacant this year. Committee members acknowledged the work of the outgoing President and Secretary in a very busy year.

David Carey assumed the Chair for the elections.

No nominations were received for President. A nomination was received from the floor, nominating Didge McDonald. Nominated Allen Sheather and Seconded Mike Berwick.

Didge McDonald was declared elected as President and congratulated by the meeting. He will hold the position until AGM 2021.

No nominations were received for Secretary. A nomination was received from the floor, nominating Laurene Hull. Nominated Peta Campbell and Seconded Carolyn Toohey.

Laurene Hull was declared elected as Secretary and congratulated by the meeting. She will hold the position until AGM 2022.

No nominations were received for Treasurer. A nomination was received from the floor, nominating Carolyn Toohey. Nominated Roisin Allen and Seconded by Allen Sheather.

Carolyn Toohey was declared elected as Treasurer and congratulated by the meeting. She will hold the position until AGM 2022.

Allen Sheather and Roisin Allen remain on the Committee for another year. There remained four vacant Committee positions. Nominations were received from the floor as follows:

Mike Berwick: Moved Allen Sheather, Seconded Roisin Allen

Mike was declared elected and will hold the position until AGM 2022. It was noted the Committee can co-opt interested members to the Committee during the year.

Incoming President took the Chair and congratulated ongoing Committee members.

He also thanked David Carey for his contribution as a Committee member for the past year, expressing appreciation for his valuable input.

General Business

Vote of thanks to David Carey for his contribution as a Committee member for the past year, expressing appreciation for his valuable input Moved: Laurene Hull Seconded: Didge McDonald Carried

The meeting thanked the guest speakers for their time and significant effort in attending the meeting.

The formal meeting closed at 6.30pm, and was followed by a presentation from Lyn Johnson, Chair, Board Jabalbina Yalanji Aboriginal Corporation.

Lyn spoke about the structure of Jabalbina including three clan groups who are represented on the Board by one man and one woman from each group. Lyn explained that men hold terms for two years and women for 3 years. Board members are not necessarily elders, however they represent views of elders and others in clan groups. She spoke about the Ranger program and the beginnings of a Junior Ranger Program. Lyn explained that they are working with Rainforest 4 and other projects include Lot 83 and Mossman Botanical Gardens. She encouraged DSSG to write to the Board and ask for a meeting so we can discuss our mutual interests.

The meeting thanked Lyn for her presentation.

The meeting enjoyed a keynote address from Nigel Brothers entitled 'Backyard Daintree Mangrove Science', which informed members of the activity of researchers who visit the property of Nigel, and his partner Catherine, in Wonga to undertake Mangrove research. Nigel illustrated his presentation with images showing the research work being undertaken and the many interstate and international scientists who visit this area regularly to undertake research.

The meeting expressed great interest in the work being done in our backyard, and thanked Nigel for his time and significant effort in providing the address.

Meeting concluded at 7.15pm

Signed by Chair:	
Date:	